Bloody Mary Bliss at Geronimos FGT

I must confess, I have never been a true fan Bloody Mary. Tomato juice and celery, not my favorite combination and I have not always been convinced that it actually does much to balance (or hide) the flavor of alcohol but sometimes rather enhances it. However, as I have discovered with many drinks (and foods), it is not until you actually taste it ‘well made’ before you realize that you have been wrong all along.

A few weeks back, I received an invite from my friends at Yelp to join them for some cocktails an early evening at a bar, Geronimos FGT, in the old town of Stockholm that is, trying at least, to build a name for themselves with among other things an excellent Bloody Mary. Despite the choice of drink, I went, as it is the good company that was most important. Also, I heard some rumors that Geronimos Bloody Mary is well worth a try. The bar is underground, decorated with stuffed mounted animals and other ornaments from the prairie. There is a lot of space to sit down and even a nice chambre séparée, so this place is good for groups. A stage in the corner suggest that there are also bands playing now and then. All in all a nice looking bar, not perhaps my style, but still nice.

The entrance
The entrance
Decorations
Decorations
The stage
The stage
Chambre Separée
Chambre Separe
Some mood lighting
Some mood lighting

The menu is some sort of mix fast food Mexican and American food with some inspiring details. There is slightly more effort put into using herbs, spices and good produce than at the your average taco stand. However it is still simple enough dishes for an honest after work meal. We ordered one Bloody Mary special (a Bloody Mary with a hamburger sticking out of it – yes, you read it right, a hamburger), some tacos and a burger. We also tried the Mexican Mule (a tequila-version of a Moscow Mule). The cocktails were great! The Bloody Mary tasted like a spicy gazpacho and the Mexican Mule was fresh with lime and ginger. To my disappointment, the Bloody Mary started tasting a bit too diluted after a while, I think it had a bit too much ice in it and it was perhaps not properly mixed as the alcohol flavor came through strongly at times . Next time round I will have a Virgin Mary as I think it will actually be tastier. The food was as expected, good but not great. Value for money wise it is ok for Stockholm, but be aware that some of the dishes (like the tacos) are quite small.

Tiny Tacos
Tiny Tacos
The Bloody Mary Special
The Bloody Mary Special

All in all mission accomplished: my feelings towards Bloody Mary have perhaps softened a bit and I am curious to try out some more if I see potential. So please don’t be shy to share all of your favorite Bloody Mary hangouts in the comments box. I heard of some place in New York that had a stick of crispy bacon accompanying the celery in the Bloody Mary. That sounds awesome! What comes to Geronimos, I might be back. Taco Tuesdays, with 25 SEK tacos, sounded like something that could tickle my fancy.

Leave a Reply

