Wineweek 35: Thoughts About Helsinki

I can’t believe it! I have now lived abroad for three full years. In 2012 I packed my bags, kissed my family goodbye and boarded a plane taking me to London. I had always dreamed about living abroad and the British capital was calling for me. I was at my thirties (mid-life crisis or something), doing a job I no longer had passion for, so it was time take that leap of faith and trust in the ease and freedom of movement within the EU. Paperwork (and longing for my loved ones) aside, it was a breeze. In 2013, I married the love of my life and followed him to Stockholm, my current home-city.

This week, walking around old neighborhoods and breathing in the fresh Helsinki air, I have been thinking about what I left behind. On the top of my mind are of course all my loved ones, but there is something else as well. There is a rough charm to the city I no longer call home and now deem small(ish). Many new exciting concepts are popping up and  I can see I have fallen behind with what is new and cool (if I was ever up to date in the first place). During my visit this summer I have been surprised with the artsy feel and wonderful places I have found, and I must say I the city is starting to open up like never before. I guess you sometimes need to look at things from a distance to really see the forest from the trees. I don’t know if I will ever really return to Helsinki, but the city is alive and kicking. Here is a series of pictures from this week and from some great places I visited.

Terrace at Sushibar + Wine
Terrace at Sushibar + Wine
 The new restaurant complex in Hernesaari
The new restaurant complex in Hernesaari
Cool art in the Harbor
Cool art in the Harbor
Enjoying the summer while it lasts
Enjoying the summer while it lasts
New bars and restaurants are opening up in the aftermath of the old industrial harbor
New bars and restaurants are opening up in the aftermath of the old industrial harbor
Micro breweries are popping up in Helsinki. This little brewer had found its way to Michelin-starred restaurant Ask
Micro breweries are popping up in Helsinki. This little brewer had found its way to Michelin-starred restaurant Ask
Delicious rawcakes at cafe Kokko
Delicious rawcakes at cafe Kokko
Japanese inspired cafe Maja has a rough charm to it, like Helsinki
Japanese inspired cafe Maja has a rough charm to it, like Helsinki
Great cocktails at Liberty or Death, can't believe this was in Helsinki
Great cocktails at Liberty or Death, can’t believe I have just walked past before
A stop at Good Life Coffee is a must on our trips to Helsinki
Good advice from a coffee cup, at Good Life Coffee

And what did this post have to do with wine? Nothing really. But good times equals good wines, and I have had a lot this week (eg. Tarlant Brut Prestige 2000). So I will be happily scribbling away some reviews in the coming week!

Leave a Reply

