Wine Review: Masciarelli Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOC 2013

Wines from the Abruzzo region are perhaps not the most exciting to come out of Italy or perhaps it is just my rather limited knowledge of the wines that makes me feel like that. I was however at a restaurant serving regional food from Abruzzo so it seemed fitting (and the wine list sorted of forced me) to sample some wine from the region. I ended up sampling a wine from the winery Masciarelli. The winery was founded in 1981 by Gianni Masciarelli and it has several vineyards spanning over 300 acres in all provinces of Abruzzo. It is a fairly large operation these days and the produce around 2.5 million bottles spread over 18 different labels and five product lines (Classic Line, Gianni Masciarelli, Villa Gemma, Marina Cvetic, and Castello di Semivicoli).

The wine I tried was from the classic line and is called Masciarelli Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOC 2013. This is one of their entry level wines and it is made from a 100% Montepulciano. The winery produces around 500 000 bottles each year, so not really something rare. The wine is deep ruby colored. The nose is full of dark berries, cherry as well as more subtle hints of tobacco and violets. The flavor is dominated by blackcurrant, plum but also with some pepper notes and tobacco in the finish. To me this is not a bad wine at all but it just does not excite me one bit. Too simple and slightly boring and a typical mass-market wine. It is non-offensive and works well with the regional foods, for example it went pretty well with the grilled lamb skewers. Quality wise it is only worth a 2.5 but value for money is pretty decent and deserves a 3.

2 thoughts on “Wine Review: Masciarelli Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOC 2013

  1. I disagree. I was introduced to Masciarelli’s Montepulciano d’Abruzzo in 1992 and found it to, yes, be a primitive wine with earthy flavors and a joy to drink. The price point has held steady here in the U.S. all this time as has the quality. Perhaps the under $14 price is off-putting for many but not once you taste it. I’ve had much more expensive wines that don’t come near Masciarelli. I highly recommend it.

    Like

  2. Glad you enjoy it and I am sure many others do as well but not a favorite of mine. Price level is decent but I have numerous other wines at the same price level I would rather drink than this. It is however good that we do not all like the same things so please do continue to enjoy this wine and I will drink other things 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

