Wineweek 43: Fall Tasting

I must say I am a bit torn about Sundays. It’s usually the calmest day of the week with ample time to just slack off, write and eat nice food. However, I also feel the looming stress of Monday in my bones. It is not like I don’t like Mondays, I do, but the calendar is often very full resulting in Sunday being the only day of the week I can really do something creative. Then again, it is the only day to really rest. What a dilemma. Writing this blog is thankfully a combination of both.

Yesterday we had our fall tasting. The doors to our (rented) tasting room were open for anyone interested in sampling our selection. Last time we held a similar event, it was crazy. We had so many people that we did not really have any time to chat with anyone, we were just serving. Yesterday was much calmer and much more pleasant. We sampled five cavas, four reds and a white from our current selection, as well as wines from Almeida Garret (Portugal), a potential new producer for our range. We had also, as per plan, prepared proper materials to keep people on top of what they were tasting. I must say the planning and the materials paid off. I am now considering if we should have custom made Winecurious tasting books printed for handing out at our events. I wonder what they would cost..

Some birthday champagne before dinner at Woodstockholm
Some birthday champagne before dinner at Woodstockholm
It was my birthday this week
It was my birthday this week
Llagrima d'Or cooling down at tasting
Llagrima d’Or cooling down at tasting
Our tasting reds clearly numbered for easy recognition
Our tasting reds clearly numbered for easy recognition

Other interesting wine news from this week: it was my birthday and we visited Woodstockholm, a furniture store/ restaurant in Södermalm. They had both an interesting menu as well as a good wine list. We had some Dhont-Grellet Champagne, a nice field blend white from Austria, and a Bourgogne red from a Japanese grower, Koji Nakada. Very interesting wines and stories, not to mention that the food was awesome.

The tartar!
The tartar!
Bourgogne red by Japanese Koji Nakada
Bourgogne red by Japanese Koji Nakada

The coming week will be tough. We will both be travelling, myself to Edinburgh and M to Antwerp. I will be meeting up with a fellow wine geek from Austria so I am expecting some exploration of the Edinburgh wine-scene (the Scots are more into whisky though). Friday we will be going (again) to Punk Royale (review here) and over the weekend we will have some friends visiting from Finland. Sunday, we will be closing our September order window and organizing transport for our customers in Stockholm. I should also be contacting some of our friends in Sant Sadurni to let them know we are coming to Cavatast. Phooh! That was it for the relaxing Sunday, looking at the agenda I better get back to work. Have a great week you all!

Leave a Reply

