How to Make a Wine-Calendar

Every year we have been together, M has made me a Christmas calendar. Usually it has been small presents: chocolates, candles and knickknacks. Nothing expensive, just something cute or practical. Last year, however, I was in for a big surprise. M had made me a wine-calendar. How awesome is that!

As the wine-calendar is one of my favorite things ever, I thought I would share the idea with you on how to make one for a wine-loving partner, friend or just yourself. There is nothing better than opening a wine-surprise first thing in the morning while waiting for Christmas.

As you see from the pictures, the outer layer of the calendar is very simple; it is just wine-boxes stacked on top of each other. You can off course use some little wine-bags or wrapping paper. However, I thought that this stacked box-calendar looked really nice on top of the wine fridge and it didn’t take that much space To pimp it up, you can buy different colored boxes or just wrap them up in some nice paper. The boxes were stacked in numerical order, so that I didn’t have to juggle them around.

Then to the interesting part, the content. The collecting of the wines should be started quite early. At least if you don’t own a car and can drag home 24 bottles of wine at a time. M had started the gathering several months before. Most of the wine had been smuggled into the flat without me noticing. I asked him where on earth had he been hiding all that wine (our apartment is not that big). Right in front of my eyes of course. He had been hiding the bottles in our wine fridge and the sample-boxes we had stacked up against the wall. Either we have too much wine or I am blind. I vote for the second option.

The calendar was quite champagne-heavy, just the way I like it. M had really gathered all of my favorite wines that cannot be bought from the monopoly, as well as some new ones that would be really interesting to try. I guess when you run a wine business together, you become quite familiar with the grape and style preferences of the other. The calendar was a refreshing mix of both cheap and mid-priced wines. It really does not need to be anything extravagant. A bottle is always a good surprise.

So there you go. Start ordering some wines, buy a few boxes and voila: you have the best Christmas calendar a wine-lover could hope for. And the best thing is, that you will (most probably) get to share the content. This year, I don’t think I will be getting one due to us traveling abroad quite early in December. Taking a wine-calendar with us would just not be very practical (note to self, do not book long trips before 24th of December). However, last years surprise is still fresh in my mind and will give me happy thoughts for a long time to come.

xx Soile

Leave a Reply

