Wineweek 100: A Hundred Weeks With Wine Writing

Wow! A hundred weeks of writing. I cant believe I have made it this far. I am a bit the type that I like the beginnings of things, so there is always a danger that I grow bored and quit after a while. But this blog has always given me new energy. I must confess, I had a great title in mind: what started with Cava will end with Cava. I have been a bit stressed with time this fall, so giving up the blog would have freed up a few hours. But I don’t really want to stop, so I will save this title for the day that writing is not fun anymore.

And its not only the writing that makes me happy. Along the way I have learned a lot about wine. I am a complete amateur after all, but these days can easily present myself around wine-knowledgeable people. If not for the blog, I would have not taken so many hours to myself to study. Additionally, I am becoming more and more of a confident photographer. I still struggle with pictures of people and other moving objects, but my food photos are beginning to look quite delicious. At least to my own eye.

Along with all the skills I have developed, the wine business has given us a lot of happiness. I was just reflecting on it when standing at the Torelló counter at Cavatast. We were surrounded by people we have met in the recent years. Today we call them friends. Our glasses were full (of Torelló Brut Nature Gran Reserva) and we were picking on pieces of meat that was being passed around. Music was playing and people were laughing. I felt very blessed. Or perhaps deserving. We have worked a lot. We have made a huge effort to connect with people and bond. I will remember these moments better than I will remember any paycheck.

So what started with Cava will continue with Cava; and other wines and food as well. Who knows, maybe I will be publishing a Wineweek 200 in two years time. And as always, I will continue to write whatever pops into my head at that time. Not that I can say I have been very successfull with a huge number of readers. However, that is how I enjoy writing the most.

xx Soile

dsc_0064
The happy Cavatasters at Torelló

Leave a Reply

