107: Beneath the Chestnut Tree

Yes! Most of the moving boxes have now been emptied. I have found my camera equipment and all that is needed to resume a “normal life”. This Sunday I can publish some of my pictures from London as well as from the past weekend in Stockholm. M is in London, and I have been mainly cleaning. However I have made sure to have a few treats up my sleeve: a dinner at Le Nom restaurant with a dear friend and a cake-run to Under Kastanjen Cafe (Beneath the Chestnut Tree) in Old Town.

Le Nom is a fancy-ish bistro in Stockholms Vasastan. The cuisine is French inspired and the sizes of the dishes what one would call medium. Someone else might call them starter-size, but medium seems to be the new it-word in restaurants. I don’t mind, I am not a volume eater, but prefer to have smaller tasters and as many as possible. That is why fine dining suits me in general. We also had some very lovely wines: Drappier champagne, a juicy Sancerre and Bourgogne Pinot Noir. The restaurant is very cozy and regardless of the fancy-looking food, relaxed. I need to go there with M some time. Very good venue for a date with a foodie.

This morning we (me, my mother and daughter) headed out for a walk in the old town. The weather was crispy clear and not too raw. So it was very pretty on the historic cobblestone streets. Under Kastanjen is a traditional cafe, with checked table cloths, apple pie with whipped cream and cinnamon buns. Its definitely the type of place you take your mother to. They also have a wine bar down stairs, which I think I must try some time. Even though it is not mentioned by any Stockholm wine geeks, I find it my duty to know all these places. The square where Under Kastanjen is also located is very picturesque – one of my favorite spots in Old town. We ate almond and raspberry cake while gazing out the window at the wondering tourists. Very casual and relaxing weekend – just what I needed after a week of intense manual labor (moving a hundred wine boxes).

Have a great week and enjoy the pictures!

xx Soile

dsc_0227
Under the Chestnut Tree..
dsc_0224
…and the pretty square that it is on
dsc_0208-2
Almond and raspberry cake
dsc_0192
Stockholm christmas decorations
dsc_0168
Swedish charcuterie at Le Nom
dsc_0177-2
After Eight cream cones at Le Nom
dsc_0162
Cozy feel at Le Nom
dsc_0124
Pulled pork flatbread at Greenwich market
dsc_0111-2
At Greenwich market
dsc_0078
On the edge of Greenwich
dsc_0044
Cauliflower and onion at Foley’s London
dsc_0027
Christmas lights on Oxford street

Leave a Reply

