Wineweek 115: New Years Resolutions

In general, I don’t make New Years resolutions. I never keep them. But there is one I think I can commit to with true enthusiasm – Drink more Champagne! I stole it (with pride) from my friend Ali. We are back in Sweden and back in our normal rhythm of nine to five at the office. I guess that’s why just a dinner and wine with friends felt so damn good on Friday. We finally have the best wine-menu in town at our grabs, and that is our own cellar (read: wine fridges. Cellar just sounds so much better). Not to mention that we can drink from Zalto glasses, which was not the case anywhere in Thailand and Singapore. I am also looking forward to visiting our real cellar, Magnusson again. It will open next week after being closed for the holidays. Next week we will be going to Helsinki. I just noticed that my “white whale” BasBas, where I never manage to get a reservation when we are in Finland, has opened a bar a vins that allows walk-ins. I think we will be brave and give it a try on Saturday. Other wine bars on the to-do list include El Fant, which should also have a great selection of coffees. I am usually quite fine with giving these walk-in places a try, however January in Finland is quite a brutal month to wait for a table outside. Finnish readers, any other tips?

I don’t have any new pictures to share with you this week. My camera has been resting after three and a half weeks of intense use. But here are a few pics from our last week in Bangkok. These memories will carry me through the rest of the cold and dark winter.

xx Soile

07012017-dsc_0681
Skål for a New Year!
07012017-dsc_0643
Beer-time at the Mikkeller bar Bangkok
08012017-dsc_0714
Thai dancers at the Erawan shrine
08012017-dsc_0702
A woman saying her prayers at the Erawan shrine
08012017-dsc_0803
Wine at the Okura hotel
07012017-dsc_0602
Oven banana with strawberries and ice cream at Vanilla Garden
07012017-dsc_0585
Kiwi cooler at Vanilla Garden
04012017-dsc_0434
Backstage martini
03012017-dsc_0233
Not my New Years Resolution, but a good one nevertheless

Leave a Reply

