Gin from the heart of Stockholm – Stockholms Bränneri

Gin – my second favorite topic after wine. I don’t know if I have mentioned where this obsession started from? London of course. It was there, under the railway arches in Bermondsey I had my first taste of small batch “boutique” gin from a Danish ginmaker called Jensen’s. I was expecting to grimace after a sip of raw gin, but to my surprise the taste was soft and silky. It was one of those aha-experiences, where I realizes that the gins I have been drinking before have just been questionab quality. That day, spirits went back on the shopping list again, but only quality spirits. And I am happy to announce that I have found a local favorite here in Stockholm: Stockholms Bränneri.

Stockholms Bränneri is a small distillery here in Stockholm, located in an old Jaguar workshop on the island of Södermalm. They make a few different gins: Dry Gin and Oak Gin that can be purchased at a few selected monopoly stores (Folkungagatan 56, Folkungagatan 101 and Söderhallarna), as well as some custom gins for restaurants like Bar Agrikutur. All Stockholms Bränneri gins are organic.

I was a lucky and got a bottle of Dry gin for my birthday (what every girl hopes for). Its a traditional dry gin with characteristics from 7 organic botanicals – juniper berries, coriander seeds, angelica root, lemon peel, heather, elderflower and rosemary. This gin is perfect for simple, spiced GTs, as well as some classic gin cocktails like Gin fizz. I took the easy road last weekend and just added some premium tonic, a rosemary branch and blueberries.

The Oak gin is distilled with orange peel and long pepper, and has rested on bourbon barrels giving it some subtle vanilla tones. Mmmm..sounds quite good. The makers call this a sipping gin that can be enjoyed without any mixers on ice. I could imagine it also working in some traditionally whiskey based cocktails. I don’t really drink whisky, so the Oak gin sounds perfect.

Stockholms Bränneri have a very customer centric approach. They arrange events and tasting and seem to have an open house policy where one can pop in during opening hours for coffee and a chat about gin. I definitely need to test this concept.  Until then, I am glad I have a bottle in the closet. You know, just in case a sudden thirst for gin appears.

If you are interesting in tasting some gin from Stockholm Bränneri, it is available at Bar Agrikultur; mainly in their spiced Gin & Tonics, but I am sure you can order a shot as well.

xx Soile

20171014-DSC_0176
Stockholms Bränneri Dry gin
20171014-DSC_0188
GT with rosemary and blueberries
09072017-DSC_0053
Custom gin for Bar Agrikultur

 

Leave a Reply

